The Power Play Scholarship Association presented $2,000 scholarships to each of 30 recipients during a May 6 luncheon in Murfreesboro, Tenn.

Each year since 1995, the Association has awarded grants to TVPPA-member utility staffers’ college-bound dependents. This year’s awards hiked the Association’s all-time tally to 608 scholarships worth $2.3 million.

Scholarship recipients are chosen by a selection team comprised of college/university educators from across the Valley. The recipients are selected based on academic achievement, standardized test scores, leadership qualities, letters of recommendation and written essays.

Jimmy Sandlin, general manager at Holston EC, Rogersville, Tenn., and chairman of the Association’s Scholarship Committee, presented 2019 Power Play scholarships to (TVPPA-member affiliation in parentheses):

• Koby Batts of Hopkinsville, Ky., High School (Hopkinsville ES)
• Jayden Bobo of Boaz, Ala., High School (Marshall-DeKalb EC)
• Alicia Burns of McNairy Central High School, Selmer, Tenn. (Pickwick EC)
• Sadie Burns of Boaz High School (Albertville MUB)
• Ethen Carrell of Gibson Co. High School, Dyer, Tenn. (Humboldt Utilities)
• Haley Cockrell of Ripley, Miss., High School (Tippah EPA)
• Abigail Crossen of Northwest Whitfield High School, Tunnel Hill, Ga. (North Georgia EMC)
• James Landyn Ford of Clinton, Tenn., High School (LaFollette Utilities)
• Grayson Garrett of Community High School, Unionville, Tenn. (Duck River EMC)
• Grace Gibson of South Gibson County High School, Medina, Tenn. (Jackson EA)
• Coy Green of Macon County High School, Lafayette, Tenn. (Tri-County EMC)
• Marilyn Hagar of Central Magnet School, Murfreesboro, Tenn. (Nashville ES)
• Blake Hays of Arlington, Tenn., High School (Memphis LG&W)
• Lindsey Hedrick of Berean Christian High School, Knoxville, Tenn. (Sevier County ES)
• Jaye Henderson of Hartselle, Ala., High School (Joe Wheeler EMC)
• Abby Lancaster of Corinth, Miss., High School (Alcorn Co. EPA)
• Will Medley of Marshall Co. High School, Lewisburg, Tenn. (Lewisburg ES)
• Emily Nelson of Cheatham Co. Central High School, Ashland City, Tenn. (Cumberland EMC)
• Tristan Nixon of Smith Co. High School, Carthage, Tenn. (Upper Cumberland EMC)
• Emeri Nosal of Hartselle High School (Decatur Utilities)
• Taylor Odum of Meigs Co. High School, Decatur, Tenn. (Volunteer EC)
• Noah Pickett of Neshoba Central High School, Philadelphia, Miss. (Central EPA)
• Ellie Pritchard of Sullivan East High School, Bluff City, Tenn. (BrightRidge)
• Kelli Rhea of Marshall Academy, Holly Springs, Miss. (Northcentral Mississippi EPA)
• Samantha Turner of Starkville, Miss., High School (4-County EPA)
• Embry Weaver of South Warren High School, Bowling Green, Ky. (Warren RECC)
• Reyna Whitaker of Walker Valley High School, Cleveland, Tenn. (Chattanooga EPB)

Scholarship winners unable to attend the awards luncheon were:

• Tyler Belcher of Marshall Co. High School, Benton, Ky. (West Kentucky RECC)
• Macy Galloway of Fannin Co. High School, Blue Ridge, Ga. (Tri-State EMC)
• Holden Hacker of Tennessee High School, Bristol Tenn. (Bristol ES)

Grace Gibson of Medina, Tenn., also won the Johnny Hayes Memorial Scholarship, named to honor the memory of the late TVA director who founded the Power Play scholarship program.