The 2018 Power Play Scholarship Association Golf Tournament is set for an Oct. 1 return engagement at The Club at Olde Stone in Bowling Green, KY. TVA is scheduled to announce details, including entry information, in the coming weeks.

The tournament serves as a primary fund-raiser for the Power Play Scholarship Association, which awards grants each year to college-bound children of TVPPA-member utilities who’ve excelled not only in their classrooms, but in their communities as well.

The 2018 recipients of Power Play scholarships were honored this past spring at a luncheon in Murfreesboro, TN. Those honorees and their TVPPA-member affiliations are:

The 2018 recipients of Power Play Scholarship Association awards were honored at a luncheon in Murfreesboro, TN. (photo courtesy TVA)

Elijah Abel, North East Mississippi EPA, Oxford, MS
Morgan Calvert, Cullman, AL, PB
Cole Carnahan, Tri-County EMC, Lafayette, TN
Braden Cooper, Weakley Co., TN, MES
Aggie Doddridge, Northcentral Mississippi EPA, Olive Branch, MS
Sarah Ellis, Memphis, TN, LG & W
Storm Gale, Columbus, MS, L & W
Paige Garner, Joe Wheeler EMC, Trinity, AL
Hannah Gowen, Tallahatchie Valley EPA, Batesville, MS
Emily Greeson, North Georgia EMC, Dalton, GA
Rachel Hill, Nashville, TN, ES
Kenzi Hockaday, Duck River EMC, Shelbyville, TN
Anna Kendall, Southwest Tennessee EMC, Brownsville, TN
Brittany Kumpf, Middle Tennessee EMC, Murfreesboro, TN
Tyler Ladd, Pennyrile RECC, Hopkinsville, KY
Elissa Lawson, Cleveland, TN, Utilities
Megan Lemons, Fort Loudoun EC, Vonore, TN
Chanlar Mann, Bowling Green, KY, MU
Cameron McConnell, Newport, TN, Utilities
Macey Milliken, CDE Lightband (Clarksville, TN)
Nicolette Newby, Caney Fork EC, McMinnville, TN
Morgan Patton, Tri-State EMC, McCaysville, GA
Brooklyn Stanfill, Lexington, TN, ES
Seth Swinea, Florence, AL, Utilities
Avery Thompson, Murray, KY, ES
Kaitlyn Tilson, Erwin, TN, Utilities
Benjamin Walker, Maryville, TN, ED
Mary Whaley, BrightRidge (Johnson City, TN)
Clayton Williams, Cumberland EMC, Clarksville, TN
Asante Wilson, Cullman EC, Cullman AL

Including the 2018 awards, the Power Play Scholarship Association has presented 578 scholarships totaling more than $2.2 million since its 1995 inception. Scholarship recipients are chosen by an eight-member selection team of educators from colleges and universities in the Valley and selected based on academic achievement, standardized test scores, leadership qualities, letters of recommendation and written essays.

The association also awards an additional sum to the winner of the Johnny Hayes Memorial Scholarship, named to honor the memory of the late TVA director who founded the Power Play Scholarship program. Aggie Doddridge of Northcentral Misisssippi EPA, Olive Branch, MS, was this year’s Hayes honoree.