Chip Nanney, left, and Mark Yates, right, pose with the first place trophy.

Dan Rodamaker of Gibson Electric Membership Corporation, Chip Nanney of Irby Co. and Mark Yates of TVA teamed up to win first place at the 2021 Power Play Golf Tournament.  

Held at the Holston Hills Country Club in Knoxville, Tenn. on Monday, September 20, the annual tournament raises money for the Power Play Scholarship Fund which grants scholarships to college bound students from TVPPA member utilities who excel academically and in service to their community.

The second place team included Rob Neely of Oxford Utilities, Joe Trent of Holston Electric Cooperative, Ryan Leister of TVA and Jason Stigall of Irby Co.

The third place team included Dr. Wayne Fuller of Cullman Power Board, Dale Vowell of Russellville Electric Board, Jeff Gibson of Versalift Southeast and Aaron Melda of TVA. 

Corbin Battles of Municipal Utilities Board of the City of Albertville won Longest Drive, Dan Rodamaker of Gibson Electric Membership Corporation won Closest to Hole and Mike Manning of Cullman Power Board won Guess My Drive Length. 

Since its inception in 1995, the Power Play Scholarship Association has presented 638 scholarships totaling more than $2.4 million. Scholarship recipients are chosen by an eight-member selection team of educators from colleges and universities in the Valley and selected based on academic achievement, standardized test scores, leadership qualities, letters of recommendation and written essays.