During the American Public Power Association’s (APPA) National Conference June 7-12, in San Diego, Ca., five TVPPA members were recognized for their outstanding contributions to public power.

Mark Kimbell, General Manager, Gallatin Department of Electricity, was honored with the Mark Crisson Leadership and Managerial Excellence Award. This award recognizes managers at any level of a public power utility, joint action agency, or state or regional association who bring their organizations to new levels of excellence, lead by example and inspire their employees and staff to improve processes, services, and operations.

CDE Lightband and EPB Chattanooga earned the DEED Energy Innovator Awards. The Demonstration of Energy & Efficiency Developments (DEED) Award recognizes DEED member utilities that embody the spirit of the DEED program, including improving operations and services of public power utilities in an outstanding manner.

Columbus Light and Water and Huntsville Utilities received the Sue Kelly Community Service Award. The award acknowledges their dedication to good neighbor activities that show commitment to the local community.

Congratulations to the 2024 APPA Honorees from the Tennessee Valley.