This TVPPA Annual Membership Meeting, held as a hybrid event allowing members to attend and vote in person or, for the first time ever, to attend and vote online, was held September 21 in Murfreesboro, Tenn. In his address to the membership, outgoing TVPPA Board Chairman, David Wade of Chattanooga EPB, highlighted the unusual circumstances including spring tornados, issues of social justice, and the COVID-19 pandemic that have challenged TVPPA’s members this year. “You continued to care for your communities in spite of everything that was going on,” said Wade before challenging members to focus on issues that unite them with the purpose of making the Tennessee Valley better for all its citizens.

Members approved eight resolutions, showing support for TVPPA’s long-term vision and strategy; pledging support for TVA Board nominees; committing to support for the public power model in the Tennessee Valley; supporting economical hydroelectric on the Cumberland River; supporting workforce training and continuing education; honoring former TVA directors Richard Howorth and Skip Thompson; expressing appreciation for TVPPA employees; and honoring in memoriam with a moment of silence those that have passed from among the public power ranks in the past year.

The membership confirmed Wade as the Big Eight at-large municipal representative to the board and Dave Cross, CEO of Plateau EC, Oneida, Tenn., to serve his first three-year term as at-large cooperative director in the seat left by two-term director Greg Williams of Appalachian EC, New Market, Tenn.