Tenn. Governor Bill Lee recently announced the appointment of Chris Jones, CEO of Middle Tennessee Electric, to the Tenn. Nuclear Energy Advisory Council.

The council was created earlier this year to position the state as a national leader for nuclear energy innovation and advancement. The appointees bring a broad range of industry experience that will build upon the state’s legacy in nuclear innovation and drive continued investment to create a nuclear energy ecosystem for the future of Tenn., including business development, government relations, and stewardship of natural resources.

The following members have been appointed by Gov. Lee:

  • Commissioner David Salyers – Tennessee Department of Environment and Conservation
  • Braden Stover – Tennessee Department of Economic and Community Development
  • Director Patrick Sheehan – Tennessee Emergency Management Agency
  • Dr. Loong Yong, Ph.D., Spectra Tech – Congressional Delegation Designee
  • Adam DeMella, ADG Strategies – Congressional Delegation Designee
  • Don Moul – Tennessee Valley Authority Representative
  • Jeff Smith – Oak Ridge National Laboratory Representative
  • Dr. Wes Hines, Ph.D., University of Tennessee – Higher Education Representative
  • Tracy Boatner, East Tennessee Economic Council – Workforce Development Representative
  • Mayor Terry Frank, Anderson County – Local Government Representative
  • Chris Jones, Middle Tennessee Electric – Utilities Representative
  • Jennifer Stone, Thompson Engineering, Inc. – Energy Production Representative
  • Dr. Hash Hashemian, Ph.D., Analysis and Measurement Services – Nuclear Industry Representative
  • Michelle Amante-Harstine – Member At-Large
  • Blake Harris – Member At-Large
  • Steve Jones – Member At-Large
  • Maria Korsnick – Member At-Large
  • Dr. Padma Raghavan, Ph.D. – Member At-Large
  • Ken Rueter – Member At-Large
  • Lang Wiseman – Member At-Large

The following members have been appointed by Lieutenant Governor Randy McNally and House Speaker Cameron Sexton:

  • Chairman Ken Yager, Tennessee Senate – Lieutenant Governor Appointee
  • Chairman Clark Boyd, Tennessee House of Representatives – Speaker of the House Appointee